Glow Stick

We’ve been slow to post lately because waiting for our house to sell is a pain and we didn’t want to fill the blog with lots of entries expressing that! Still waiting. But in the mean time we just wrapped up a great week at Rehoboth Beach, DE with my family. The weather was excellent, the water was cool but swim-able, and the kids were wired on Candy Kitchen treats and the excitement that comes from 24 hours of playing (with a little sleeping).

The Family on the Boardwalk

This trip is a reunion of sorts for my family, since we really haven’t been able to get everyone together otherwise. My brother Ed, his wife Cibyl, and their three: Emma, Jeremy, and William; my sister Kathy, her husband Mike and their daugther Annie; us and my parents. We came to Rehoboth as a family many summers when I was a kid, so it’s nice to enjoy the familiarity of the place. It’s much more built-up now, but some things never change, like Funland and its classic (bumper cars and the Paratrooper), cheesy (the Haunted Mansion), and ancient (the kiddie rides are the same I rode) rides.

Number One Beach Activity

You haven’t spent enough time on the beach until you’ve got a nice heat rash going. Check. I avoided major sunburn. Good. I didn’t nap. Too bad. But got a good way through Greene’s Journey Without Maps. It’s great for two reasons. One, Greene is a brilliant travel writer. Two, our jaunt in the Airstream around the US seems positively easy compared with trekking through the unpredictable Liberian bush. Biggest plus for us: no malaria. Yippee!

Attack of the Sand Dribbler