DSC_0016.JPG
Honey and Elise.

This morning and early afternoon were spent in anticipation of my parents’ arrival. We laundered and grocered and did a little straightening up in good ol’ Shackleton. Mom and Dad arrived close to 4:00 and Elise ran through the campground to hug them as they walked up the road.

They are very graciously staying in a motel across the street to be near us. There are better accommodations in town, but the motel is the most convenient. I say they are “graciously” staying there because they just returned from a week with my brother Chris and his wife Caren vacationing in upstate New York at The Point, one of Rockefeller’s “Great Camps”. It is a 5-star rated resort and a place that dreams are made of. I think my parents did this backwards — they should have come to us in the RV park first and then gone with Chris. Thank goodness we at least have an Airstream!

DSC_0015.JPG

We spent a very enjoyable afternoon sitting outside at the picnic table catching up and eating yummy cookies. Elise and I made sugar cookies for Pop (what the grandkids call my dad) this afternoon. Elise and Pop have a tradition of cookies before dinner as an “appetizer”. Unbeknownst to us, my sister and niece made delicious oatmeal chocolate chip cookies yesterday that my mom brought with her. Thanks, Lyn and Taylor! So we feasted on sugar and flour goodness while we chatted. We haven’t seen my parents since our trip home at New Years, so there was plenty to discuss. Eventually, Elise convinced Honey (what everyone calls my mom) to come inside and play on the computer with her while Bobby, Dad and I hung out outside. Soon after a dinner was made and eaten. Elise got out her soccer ball and she and Honey played catch. Pop got in on the action, too, and the three played catch with a baseball and gloves.

Dessert was called for so we walked a block to the Starbucks for drinks. Once back at the trailer we dove right into a game of Ticket to Ride. Somehow, Elise and Honey won.